Banner image for Compendium: News from Commonwealth Libraries with photo of Office of Commonselath Libraries building

Healthy Library Initiative: Learn More on Sept 20

Beyond Books: Public Libraries Address the Social Determinants of Health – Breezing Along with the RML from NNLM MCR

September 20, 2017 9am PT/10am MT/11am CT/12pm ET

Login information

Join Anna Morgan from the Healthy Library Initiative as she discusses public libraries, their influence on social determinants of health, and their importance for community well-being. The Healthy Library Initiative has worked with Philadelphia area public libraries in identifying how the libraries address social determinants of health and how they can build on those programs. To read more about Healthy Library Initiative and what they do, visit http://www.healthylibrary.org/.

Presenter
Anna Uma Morgan, MD, MSc, MSHP is a general internist and recently completed the Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Scholars at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Morgan’s work is focused on community-based interventions for addressing the social determinants of health. As a clinical scholar, she worked primarily with the Healthy Library Initiative, a partnership between Penn and the Free Library of Philadelphia aimed at harnessing the power of public libraries to improve population health. She continues to practice primary care in underserved populations.

Questions? Contact:
Annette Parde-Maass
Education and Outreach Coordinator
National Network of Libraries of Medicine | MidContinental Region
Creighton University Health Sciences Library
AnnetteParde-Maass@creighton.edu
402.280.4156

—–

Lydia N. Collins, MLIS
Consumer Health Coordinator
National Network of Libraries of Medicine, Middle Atlantic Region (NNLM MAR)University of Pittsburgh, Health Sciences Library System
200 Scaife Hall, 3550 Terrace Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15261
412.624.1411 Office
412.624.1515 Fax
lydia@pitt.edu

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , ,